Most Anticipated Announced Switch Titles

Nintendo Switch Logo

After I have finally gotten through the epic-length Witcher 3, I can finally give my attention to the wonderful Nintendo Switch.  After my lucky acquisition of the handheld/console hybrid, I have not been able to jump fully into Zelda or the like just yet.

Now that Witcher 3 is in the books, I’ve started looking ahead at what the Switch has to offer.  Nintendo offerings are always exciting, and given the new style of the console, it will be even more interesting to see how developers utilize the new technology.

I’m sure I could write one of these posts every couple months given my hype for the Switch.  I got on the WiiU bandwagon a little late, and was also a little behind the curve on the 3DS.  Both have turned out to have strong libraries, and the Switch appears to be coming out of the gate firing (at least by end of year).

Without further ado, here are some of my personally anticipated titles announced for Switch:

Splatoon 2 (release date: July 21, 2017)

Unfortunately, I didn’t have time to get in on the Global Testfire.  I actually just missed the last time slot because I messed up on the time zone conversion.  Regardless, it has not quelled my excitement for one of Nintendo’s newer IPs.

tqekj8dxdw4h42udpsrw1

I do not own the original Splatoon, so the whole experience will be fairly new to me.  The bright colors and attitude of the aesthetic look appealing.  With most multiplayer console shooters focusing on grimdark or realistic military settings, its nice to have a change of pace.

Splatoon 2 Paint Roller

What will be most interesting is whether this will be enough for me to maintain an online membership with Nintendo.  While it will be free initially while the roll out the whole online experience, Nintendo’s track record of online services is weak.

Disgaea 5 (release date: May 23, 2017)

While this title has released elsewhere and so will just be a port, I am excited to finally get on the Disgaea hype train.

Disgaea 5 Squad Attack

Like Splatoon, I will be coming to this title without prior experience.  I’ve seen a lot of the previous titles, but have never played through them myself.  I strongly considered this for PS4 when it originally released, and planned to remote play it via Vita for the most part.

Disgaea 5 Grid Gameplay

I held off, and I’m kinda glad that I did.  SRPGs shine the brightest on the go for me, and given what I know about this series, these games require quite the time investment.  Being able to bring the Switch and just play a little bit at a time will make it much easier to grind.

Octopath Traveler (release date: TBD)

If it weren’t for the final title on this list, Project Octopath Traveler would definitely be my most anticipated title.

Octopath Traveler Night Mountain

Not a whole lot has been revealed regarding Square Enix’s new Switch title.  But with Square Enix involved, you know it will bring a certain flair, and this one is supposedly coming from the folks behind Bravely Default.

Octopath Traveler Town Scene

The screenshots show-off a very cool art style, but we haven’t received much more than that.  Is it turn-based?  Is it a traditional RPG? Hopefully we get some more info at E3.

Octopath Traveler Battle Scene

Super Mario Odyssey (release date: Q4 2017)

This is the big one.  Nintendo’s big follow-up to the outstanding Zelda release is the iconic red plumber.

Super Mario Odyssey Street

The hype has already started rising for this title, again, without much more than a couple of teasers.  Rumor has it that it will try to go back to the Mario 64 style of platformer, a fan favorite and one of my all time favorite games.

Super Mario Odyssey Mariachi Guy

While I enjoyed Galaxy and 3D World has been alright, I feel like they drift a little more into the linear style, compared to the sandbox worlds of Mario 64.  Maybe this will be something different entirely.  The humans in the trailer certainly look different from anything we’ve seen in a Mario title.

 

What are you looking forward to? What are are you looking forward to that hasn’t been announced (Pokemon!)? Comment below!

Switch Infographic

12 thoughts on “Most Anticipated Announced Switch Titles

  1. I’m excited for all these games! Right now I’m a bit chuffed because there’s no way to upgrade my 3DS copy of Shovel Knight to Switch – ah well. More RPGs though, please, Nintendo!

    Like

  2. Odyssey is probably my most anticipated game of the year. Throw in Puyo Puyo Tetris, Splatoon 2, and Octopath, and I’m excited for later this year when I finally get a Switch.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This seems like an interesting selection of games. I have heard Splatoon is popular, so it would be interesting how the developers would develop the game. I like the description if multiplayers lacking colourful fun, the new Splatoon game seems a little like Super Smash Bros. The Disgea game seems cartoonlike. The argument for it being on a portable system is interesting, allowing the player to work on the repetitive aspects of the game at short intervals, so they can prepare the game for the interesting parts later. The graphics for the Project Octopath seem interesting, they look like 2D characters in a 3D world. I am surprised there are no Metroid games being developed, I thought that series was quite popular.
    What is Super Mario Odyssey? It looks more urban than usual Mario games. Is Disgea turn-based? Is it multiplayer?

    Like

Add to the Discussion:

