One and Done: Warhammer: End Times – Vermintide

One and Done is a series where I play games from my Steam backlog for roughly 1-2 hours and give a quick review of how it went, along with a “score” of how likely I am to continue the game.

Vermintide Cover Art

Developer: Fatshark

Publisher: Fatshark

Platforms: PC (played), PS4, Xbox One

Release Date: October 23, 2015

Overall Summary: Solid, easy to pick up game that has a few issues that do not detract from an otherwise enjoyable multiplayer experience.

Steam had Vermintide as part of its free weekend, and so I decided to give it a whirl.  Given my love of Warhammer (and being more partial to the Old World side of Warhammer), I was excited to get a free chance at playing this title, as I had heard good things about it.

Vermintide is a party-based action game in the vein of Left 4 Dead.  Teams of 4 players enter discrete missions where they fight off the Skaven horde en route to collecting loot and performing whatever objectives are required.

Vermintide Rat Ogre

The game revolves around multiplayer, with lobbies filling up with four players per mission, and AI controlling members if there is a lack of real players.  I only played a few missions with an AI involved, and they are obviously weaker than an actual player.  While they can be OK at simply walking into a melee fight, they do lack the sophistication to really implement any kind of plan.

The character choice include an archer, mage, solider, dwarf warrior, and fire mage.  Of course, each has a bit more flavor that emanate from the Warhammer lore, but those are the basic silos.  I quickly became partial to the fire mage for its potent ranged attacks, and saw an archer in nearly every mission I played.

Vermintide Characters

Speaking of missions, it was fairly easy to get into the game, where the main hub is an Inn where you can change your character and its inventory, along with picking a lobby or game to jump into.  There were numerous lobbies of varying missions to choose from for me as a beginner, and I did not have to play with bots hardly at all.

The levels definitely channel a Mordheim theme, and evoke the Warhammer universe well enough from what I saw.  However, I noticed that the speed of the characters seemed a little slow, given the pace of the action, and I also felt a lack of satisfaction in the melee attacks when they hit.  It just felt a little weak given the sprays of gore.

Vermintide Gameplay

One big issue I had early on was technical.  I started off fine, swinging my Empire soldiers hammer at Skaven left and right.  Then, my mouse seemed to get extremely laggy and I could not move to the right.  I replaced the battery in my mouse and tried again and it just got worse.  I played other games to make sure it wasn’t the hardware and confirmed such.  I messed with the some of the graphics settings and then reboot my computer and the lag went away.  Not sure what the ultimate issue was, but it was nearly unplayable while it was in effect.

Chance of continuing: 50%

+Easy to drop in and drop out

+Fun general gameplay with online players

-Character speed and strikes feel off given the action

-Technical issues

2 thoughts on “One and Done: Warhammer: End Times – Vermintide

  1. I have not played this game. I remember your series of reviewing games based on 1 hour of play and liked the idea, so I was pleased to see that you are continuing it. This seems like a strange game, fighting hordes of giant rats. I remember your statement about the how the bots fight reminds me of Star Wars Battlefront, where the allied AI units seemed very good at getting killed. I also remember playing some games where the mouse seemed to stop working.
    How is the game played? Is it a first-person view, but with melee weapons? Is there a story? What more satisfaction do you want from the attacks?

    Liked by 1 person

Add to the Discussion:

